Why does one exist?

What is existence? According to me, the word “exist” means to find the purpose of one’s life or it could have several other connotations. Every human being is said to have a purpose in life for the fulfillment of which, she or he exists on earth. However, merely being born does not serve the purpose of existence.

The most important aspect of existence is to live in the present to the fullest. It is said that the power of thought that is bestowed upon the individuals enables them to exist in a unique manner. One spends the whole life in trying to find out as to why one is existing on earth.

Life is all about experimentations and taking risks. By not indulging in risks, we tend to risk our own lives. Coming out of the comfort zone is what is to live and explore oneself.

Richard Bach said, ” I do not exist to impress the world. I exist to live my life in a way that will make me happy.” This is exactly what existence means to me. Self satisfaction is the term here which is most important and hard to find.Rene Descartes said, ” I think, therefore I am.” This statement made by him directly reflects how important it is to think and then exist. Self motivation is the only thing that drives us towards what we wish to achieve. The external world may act as a stimulus but the real effort comes from within.

I would like to conclude my article with Salman Rushdie’s words, ” I am the sum total of everything. I am that happens after I am gone which would have happened if I had not come. This subjective I is the force which is the secret of living and facing life with all its happiness and turbulences.

Author: Mitali Bhattacharya

I am deep thinker with deep thoughts.

Leave a Reply

